Malay is a major language of the Austronesian family. It is the national language of Malaysia (as Malaysian), Indonesia (as Indonesian), and Brunei and one of four official languages of Singapore. It is spoken natively by 40 million people[5] across the Malacca Strait, including the coasts of the Malay Peninsula of Malaysia, the eastern coast of Sumatra, and the Riau Islands in Indonesia, and has been established as a native language of part of western coastal Sarawak and West Kalimantan in Borneo. In southern Thailand, the related language Pattani Malay is spoken.

Syndicate content
  • Recommend Us