History of East Panjab

East Punjab (known simply as Punjab from 1950) was a state of India from 1947 until 1956, consisting of the parts of the Punjab Province of British India that went to India following the partition of the province between India and Pakistan by the Radcliffe Commission in 1947. The mostly Muslim western parts of the old Punjab became Pakistan's West Punjab, later renamed as Punjab Province, while the mostly Sikh and Hindu eastern parts went to India.

Syndicate content
  • Recommend Us